Reinforcements: US M3A1 half-track

This is the finishing touch to my US platoon and in fine me-tradition will have absolutely zero positive impact on the tabletop. That’s the way I like it, though. It makes the occasional victories so much more sweet; I can really go home telling myself “that win was all me”.

I’ve tried to be clever here and made the mount for the Browning a slightly different military green; a lot of standard M3s were upgraded with various bits and pieces from 1943 onwards so this is a nod to that.

I’ve also gone mad with the pigment powders! I really love this stuff and have a couple of the kits from Vallejo. It’s so versatile and mixes well with different liquids like airbrush thinner, water, matte varnish or pigment binder to make various effects. Watch out that the pale pigments can dry extremely pale. I have been caught out a couple of times so I advise a tester somewhere like the vehicle undercarriage.

Here’s a tip: Don’t paint the lads inside after you’ve built the thing… could have wrung my own neck for doing that.

Next post will be a little guide into how I’ve made some scenery and then a few glamour shots of all my jungle stuff together, steamy!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started