Workbench

It has been a funny few weeks and difficult to get really stuck into any projects. I did the typical thing of listing out everything I had in ‘active’ status (code for ‘unfinished’) and then worked out how I might like to proceed.

Even more typically I then decided to start an entirely new project. Looks like we’re going to the Holy Land next and I’m looking to do something around the Arab Revolt of 1936. My grandad was there and while he was in the mounted police he did do numerous extended patrols (sometimes up to a few weeks) with the regular army up in what is now northern Israel/southern Lebanon.

I’ve also taken the mad-man’s step of knocking up a couple of drafts of some rules so more on that once the “lucky” devils in my club report back on whether they’re unplayable, boring, shite or all three.

Below are some of the figures I’ve been working on; Perry Miniatures Mounted Yeomanry and Artizan Designs WW1 Arab Irregulars.

I made a start on the Yeomanry first and have been enjoying taking a bit more time over each figure. My rules are going to be on the small action side of things (but scalable for Big Game™ fun).

After starting this latest little distraction and looking at some old photos my grandad took in the Thirties I’m now hearing the siren call of inter-war armoured cars… God knows I am my own worst enemy sometimes!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started